Lien vers page d'accueil, Portail Québec

Contact-us!

STATUS OF THE
SITUATION 2018

Number of current case: 0

Historic cases

Rabies in animals

Incubation period

The incubation period, that is, the time between the introduction into the body of the virus and the onset of symptoms, is highly variable in animals, ranging from two weeks to several months. Incubation depends, in particular, on the seriousness and size of the wound and the bite’s distance from the brain. For example, bites to the head and neck and multiple, severe bites result in shorter incubation periods.

It should be noted that animals infected with rabies can transmit the virus through their saliva up to 10 days prior to the appearance of rabies symptoms. In species such as bats, the incubation period may even exceed 10 days. Accordingly, even a seemingly healthy animal can transmit rabies.

Animals at risk

Wild animals such as bats, raccoons, skunks and foxes constitute the main reservoir of the rabies virus in North America. Domestic animals such as dogs, cats and cattle are accidental hosts. Even so, they constitute an intermediary capable of infecting humans.

All mammals are liable to contract rabies and all species affected by rabies will display signs that reflect an attack on the nervous system. Regardless of the species, the most characteristic symptoms are a change of behaviour and paralysis.

Different forms of rabies

There are two forms of rabies, furious rabies and paralytic or dumb rabies. The symptoms described here are characteristic of the different forms but a rabid animal will not necessarily display all of the symptoms.

Furious rabies

  • The animal is extremely excitable and aggressive.
  • It attacks objects, other animals or even its own limbs.
  • Extreme furious rabies usually alternates with periods of depression.

Paralytic or dumb rabies

  • The animal can become depressed and withdraw to an isolated spot.
  • It can cease to be afraid of humans.
  • A normally nocturnal animal can also become active during the day.
  • Symptoms of paralysis: paralysis of the head and neck can produce an abnormal facial expression, excessive salivation, sagging of the head and jaw or the issuing of strange sounds. Paralysis of the body usually begins with the hind legs and spreads to the rest of the body.

Signs specific to species

The symptoms described above are common to all species. However, more specific signs can be observed in certain domestic animal species during infection by the rabies virus.

Cattle

Cattle rarely present the furious form but when it occurs, they can attack humans. A characteristic sign of rabies in cattle is abnormal mooing that can be continuous or intermittent and endure until the animal’s death. Milk production plunges abruptly in dairy cattle infected with the rabies virus.

Horses

Horses can display distress and agitation. These signs accompanied by rolling can suggest that the animal is suffering from colic. Infected horses can display aggressiveness and engage in self-mutilation.

Pigs

Rabid pigs make rapid chewing movements, are uncoordinated and shake their heads repeatedly.

Sheep

Sheep infected by the rabies virus engage in hoarse bleating, tend to lick objects and become combative.

Treatments

No treatment is available for wild or domestic animals that have been exposed to the rabies virus and that have developed symptoms. Death usually occurs within 10 days of the onset of clinical signs.

Recommendations

  • The Ordre des médecins vétérinaires du Québec reminds the owners of cats and dogs that are allowed outdoors of the importance of having the animals vaccinated against rabies. Vaccination adequately protects the animals and reduces the risk of transmission of rabies from domestic pets to humans.
  • Vaccine baits are use to vaccinate certain wild animals but the baits are never intended for domestic animals. It is advisable to talk to your veterinarian to learn about and abide by the recommendations in force to effectively protect domestic animals.
  • The owners of production animals must consult their veterinarian to assess the relevance of vaccination against rabies.
  • Do not allow domestic animals to wander and prevent access by wild animals to places where domestic animals are kept.

To obtain additional information, you can also consult the website of the Ministère de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation du Québec (MAPAQ). (in French only)



Logo du Québec
© Gouvernement of Québec, 2009

Lien vers page d'accueil, Portail Québec

Apprenez-en plus : rage.gouv.qc.ca
Questions? Commentaires? Contactez-nous!


ÉTAT DE LA SITUATION 2017
Nombre de cas actuel : 0

Nombre de cas avant 2017 :
Année Nombre de cas
2016
0
2015
2014
0
2013
0
2012
0
2010
0
2009
2
2008
32
2007
66
2006
4


Testez vos connaissances ...

Démasquons-les!

La rage chez l’animal

Période d'incubation

La période d’incubation, soit le temps entre l’introduction du virus dans le corps et le début des symptômes, est très variable chez les animaux soit, entre 2 semaines et plusieurs mois. L’incubation dépend notamment de la gravité et de la dimension de la blessure et de la distance de la morsure avec le cerveau. Par exemple, des morsures à la tête et au cou et des morsures multiples et sévères sont associées à des périodes d’incubation plus courtes.

Il est important de mentionner que les animaux infectés de la rage peuvent transmettre le virus par leur salive jusqu’à 10 jours avant l’apparition des symptômes de la rage. Ainsi, un animal ayant l’air en santé peut tout de même transmettre la rage.

Animaux à risques

Ce sont les animaux sauvages qui constituent le réservoir principal du virus de la rage en Amérique du Nord (ex. : chauve-souris, raton laveur, mouffette, renard). Les animaux domestiques (chien, chat, bétail) sont des hôtes accidentels. Ils constituent tout de même un intermédiaire ayant la capacité d’infecter l’humain.

Tous les mammifères sont susceptibles de contracter la rage et toutes les espèces affectées par la rage vont démontrer des signes témoignant d’une atteinte du système nerveux. Les symptômes les plus caractéristiques, peu importe l’espèce, sont un changement de comportement et une paralysie.

Différentes formes de rage

La rage peut se manifester sous deux formes différentes, soit la forme furieuse et la forme paralytique ou muette. Les symptômes décrits ici sont caractéristiques des différentes formes, mais un animal rabique ne présentera pas nécessairement tous ces symptômes.

Forme furieuse

  • L'animal présente des signes d'excitation extrême et d'agressivité ;
  • Il s'attaque à des objets, à d'autres animaux ou même à ses propres membres ;
  • Des excès de rage furieuse alternent ordinairement avec des périodes de dépression.

Forme paralytique ou rage muette

  • L'animal peut devenir déprimé et se retirer dans des endroits isolés ;
  • Il peut cesser d'avoir peur des humains ;
  • Un animal habituellement nocturne peut devenir actif le jour ;
  • Symptômes de la paralysie : la paralysie de la tête et du cou peut entraîner une expression faciale anormale, une salivation excessive, un affaissement de la tête et de la mâchoire ou l'émission de sons étranges; la paralysie du corps commence habituellement par les pattes arrières et se propage au reste du corps.

Signes spécifiques aux espèces

Les symptômes décrits au point précédent sont communs à toutes les espèces. Toutefois, des signes plus spécifiques peuvent être observés chez certaines espèces d’animaux domestiques lors d’infection par le virus de la rage.

Bovins

Les bovins présentent rarement la forme furieuse, mais lorsque cela se produit, ils peuvent attaquer les humains. Un signe caractéristique de la rage chez les bovins est un beuglement anormal qui peut être continu ou intermittent et perdurer jusqu’à la mort de l’animal. La production laitière chute abruptement chez les bovins laitiers infectés par le virus de la rage.

Chevaux

Les chevaux peuvent manifester une attitude de détresse et d’agitation. Ces signes accompagnés de roulades peuvent laisser croire que l’animal souffre de coliques. Les chevaux infectés peuvent manifester de l’agressivité et s’automutiler.

Porcs

Les porcs enragés font des mouvements rapides de mastication, présentent de l’incoordination et secouent leur tête de manière répétitive.

Moutons

Les moutons infectés par le virus de la rage poussent des bêlements enroués, ont tendance à lécher les objets et deviennent combatifs.

Traitements

Aucun traitement n’est disponible pour les animaux sauvages ou domestiques ayant été exposés au virus de la rage. La mort survient généralement dans les 10 jours suivant le début des signes cliniques.

Recommandations

  • L’Ordre des médecins vétérinaires du Québec rappelle aux propriétaires de chats et de chiens allant à l’extérieur, l’importance de faire vacciner leur animal contre la rage. La vaccination protège adéquatement les animaux et diminue les risques de transmission de la rage des animaux de compagnie à l’humain.
  • Des appâts vaccinaux sont utilisés afin de vacciner certains animaux sauvages, mais ces appâts ne sont en aucun temps destinés aux animaux domestiques. Il est donc recommandé de discuter avec son vétérinaire afin de connaître et de respecter les recommandations en vigueur pour protéger efficacement un animal domestique.
  • Les propriétaires d’animaux de production doivent consulter leur vétérinaire afin d’évaluer la pertinence de la vaccination contre la rage.
  • Ne pas laisser errer les animaux domestiques et empêcher l’accès d’animaux sauvages aux lieux d’hébergement des animaux domestiques.

Politique de confidentialité

Logo du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2009-2015